Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
The Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh is free to walk into, covers more than 70 acres a mile north of the centre, and is the one major attraction in this city that is not in the city — no bus or a 25-minute walk stands between Princes Street and its gates. Two things decide a visit here: the season, because the garden closes at 15:30 in December and 17:00 in summer, and the restoration, because the glasshouses have been shut and only the Palm Houses come back, on Friday 2 October 2026, on a paid timed ticket. This page has the hours by month, the ticket prices as the garden publishes them, what is open and what is not, which gate to use and which bus goes there. It is one stop in the rest of the city, place by place.
Quick answer Garden free, glasshouses ticketed and mostly shut, hours change by season
The Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh is free to enter and opens daily at 10:00, closing at 17:00 from February to October, 16:00 in November and January and 15:30 in December, with 25 December and 1 January shut. The garden costs nothing; the glasshouses are ticketed, and after years of restoration only the Palm Houses reopen — on Friday 2 October 2026, on a timed ticket.
Key takeaways
- Free means the garden, not the glass: garden entry is free every day it is open, while the Palm Houses charge £5.50 an adult with the voluntary donation and £4.95 without, with children 15 and under free — the full price list has every rate.
- All the other glasshouses stay closed during the restoration, and what is open and what is fenced off is the thing to read before travelling out here for the tropics.
- It is not a city-centre stop. Allow about 25 minutes on foot from Princes Street through Stockbridge and the Water of Leith, or take a bus: the routes, gates and fares are below.
- No operator sells a tour of the garden, and the garden runs its own daily guided walks at £10 (about $14). The nearest bookable thing is a three-hour guided city walk at £35 (about $48), which does not come out here.
Key facts
Opening hours
| February to October, daily | 10:00–17:00 |
|---|---|
| November and January, daily | 10:00–16:00 |
| December, daily | 10:00–15:30 |
| Palm Houses, daily from 2 October 2026 (timed slots) | 10:15–16:15 |
| Gateway Cafe and Terrace Cafe, daily | 10:00–17:00 |
Closed 25 December and 1 January. The garden also states that in extreme weather it may close, and asks visitors to check its own site for updates
Admission
- Adult
- Garden entry free. Palm Houses £5.50 with the voluntary donation, £4.95 without (about $7.50 / $6.75)
- Reduced
- Palm Houses concession £4.70 with donation, £4.20 without (about $6.40 / $5.70); Young Scot card holders and Universal or Pension Credit holders £1 (about $1.35); members free but must still book a slot
- Free
- Everyone, for the garden itself. Children 15 and under go free in the Palm Houses; an accompanying carer ticket is free and added at booking
Planning it
- Time needed
- The garden publishes no recommended duration. Our routing: 90 minutes for a loop of the Rock Garden, the Chinese Hillside and the Arboretum, half a day with a cafe and the Palm Houses
- Book ahead
- Recommended — a few days
- Address
- Inverleith Row, Edinburgh EH3 5LR — East Gate on Inverleith Row (EH3 5LP), West Gate and the John Hope Gateway visitor centre on Arboretum Place (EH3 5NZ)
Two answers sit side by side here: the garden is free and needs no ticket at all, while the Palm Houses are a paid, timed, capacity-limited visit from 2 October 2026. Every official figure comes from rbge.org.uk, read on 30 August 2026; the guided-walk price is the operator's own on GetYourGuide the same day.
| Way in | Price | What it covers | Book ahead? | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garden entry | Free | All 70-plus acres: Rock Garden, Chinese Hillside, Arboretum, Woodland Garden, the Pond and the Heath Garden | No booking of any kind | Official site |
| Palm Houses, adult, from 2 October 2026 | £5.50 with donation; £4.95 without (about $7.50 / $6.75) | The two restored Palm Houses, now one continuous space; no other glasshouse is open | Yes — timed slots, book online, capacity limited | Official site |
| Palm Houses, concession and reduced rates | £4.70 / £4.20 concession; £1 Young Scot and Universal or Pension Credit; child 15 and under free | The same visit at the reduced rate; a free carer ticket is added at booking; members free | Yes — members must book a slot too | Official site |
| Daily guided walk with a Garden Guide | £10 (about $14); under 15s free; £1 Young Scot and Credit holders | One hour on foot from the John Hope Gateway, 11:00 and 14:00, 1 April to 31 October, ages 14+ | No advance booking — buy at the Welcome Desk or East Gate | Official site |
| Guided city walk, 3 hours | £35 (about $48) | The Old Town and New Town on foot — it does not come to the garden, and garden entry is free anyway | Free cancellation up to 24 hours before | Check Availability |
The four official rows link straight to the garden's own pages with nothing added to the URL. The walk row is an affiliate link to GetYourGuide: the price is the operator's, we take a commission if you book through it, and it costs you nothing extra. No family ticket for the Palm Houses is published — we looked, and the garden's ticket page does not list one. Checked 30 August 2026. Dollar figures are at £1 = $1.36.
Walks worth booking in a city whose best garden is free
No operator sells a tour of the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: entry is free, the guided walks are run by the garden's own staff at its own price, and there is no queue for anybody to skip. What visitors do book here are the walking tours of the streets between the garden and the centre, or of the Old Town at the other end of the day. Prices, ratings and review counts are the operators' own, read on 30 August 2026.
from £35
Edinburgh: 3-Hour Guided Walking Tour
Three hours and nineteen stops, from Usher Hall through the Grassmarket and Royal Mile to the Scott Monument, led by historians. You pass the castle from outside; no entry is included.
Check Availability
from £16
Edinburgh: Old Town History Walking Tour
The cheapest Old Town walk on the site, two hours past St Giles', Victoria Street and Greyfriars Kirkyard with the Greyfriars Bobby statue. Runs in four languages rather than English only.
Check Availability
from £18
Edinburgh: Old Town History and Tales Walking Tour
Two hours through the UNESCO Old Town covering Mercat Cross, St Giles' and the Grassmarket, plus the Harry Potter locations. Ends in the centre near bars and transport; English only.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own, checked 2026-08-30; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
What is open, what is shut, and the reopening date that changes the visit
This is the section to read before you travel out here, and it is the one most pages about the Botanics have not caught up with. Everything below was read from rbge.org.uk on 30 August 2026, including the garden's own temporary-access page.
The garden is in the middle of a major restoration of its glasshouse range, and the honest summary is this: the grounds are open and free, the Palm Houses come back on Friday 2 October 2026, and every other glasshouse stays closed while the work goes on. The garden's own words are that "all other Glasshouses remain closed during ongoing works". If your reason for the trip is the tropical range, the temperate house or the orchids, that reason does not exist this autumn.
There is a second restriction most visitors meet by accident. The Queen Mother's Memorial Garden and the Alpine area are open "with restricted access, available to visitors on Saturdays and Sundays (weather dependent)". So the alpines are a weekend proposition, and a wet weekend can take even that away. Temporary signage in the grounds marks the affected areas.
What the reopening actually gets you
The two Palm Houses have been united into one continuous space for the first time in decades — the central partition is gone. The restoration repaired the historic ironwork, replaced thousands of panes of glass and conserved the sandstone, and the buildings themselves are the point: an octagonal glasshouse of 1834 and a Victorian dome completed in 1858, among Scotland's A-listed buildings and nearly two centuries old.
Inside are ferns and palms rather than a whole botanic tour: the garden names the Norfolk Island tree fern, which reaches 20 metres in the wild, and the Mexican tree fern, and notes that around 1,000 ladybirds have been released among the plants to control other insects. Between Thursday 3 and Sunday 6 September 2026 the garden trials a preview programme of music, poetry, art, storytelling and wellbeing events in the space before the public reopening.
Should you wait for October?
Our reading: no, if you are in Edinburgh now. The garden is free, it is 70 acres, and the collections that make it internationally important — the rhododendrons, the Chinese Hillside, the Scottish natives — are all outdoors. The Palm Houses are a £5.50 half-hour, not the visit.
If you are choosing a date and the glass matters to you, book a slot for after 2 October and pair it with the same free walk round the grounds. And if a wet afternoon is the problem rather than the plan, this is the wrong answer entirely — the garden is an outdoor day, and the indoor list has the right ones.
Royal Botanic Garden opening times: three seasons, two closed days, one weather rule
The hours change three times a year and the December closing catches people out — it is an hour and a half earlier than summer. All figures are the garden's own, read on 30 August 2026.
The garden opens at 10:00 every day it opens at all. Closing moves with the light: 17:00 from February to October, 16:00 in November and January, and 15:30 in December.
| When | Garden opens | Garden closes | Cost | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February to October | 10:00 | 17:00 | Free | The long season; last useful arrival about 16:00 for a full loop |
| November and January | 10:00 | 16:00 | Free | Dusk beats the gate — the far end of the Arboretum goes dark first |
| December | 10:00 | 15:30 | Free | The shortest day of the year, all month; shut on 25 December |
| 1 January | Closed | Closed | - | One of only two days the garden does not open |
| Palm Houses, from 2 October 2026 | 10:15 | 16:15 | £5.50 adult (about $7.50) | Timed slots, booked online; all other glasshouses stay closed |
It is shut on 25 December and 1 January. The Palm Houses run their own timetable from 2 October 2026, with timed slots between 10:15 and 16:15 — earlier at both ends than the garden itself, so a 16:00 arrival in October buys you the grounds and nothing under glass.
One rule sits above all of these: "In extreme weather the Garden may close." That is not a formality in a city where winter gales close bridges; if a storm is named, check the garden's own site the morning of your visit rather than trusting any table, including this one.
When to come, and what is out
The garden publishes no crowding figures and we are not going to invent any, but the seasonal shape is not a secret. Rhododendrons peak in spring, the herbaceous border in high summer, the Arboretum in late October, and the winter months buy you 70 acres almost to yourself in exchange for a 15:30 or 16:00 gate.
The garden runs its Christmas at the Botanics light trail in the dark months, which is a separate ticketed event rather than a garden visit — its own page carries the dates. When to come to Edinburgh at all covers the seasons across the city, and the events calendar the fixed dates.
What to see in 90 minutes: a loop that takes in the collections that matter
The garden names its own highlights on its visit page: the Rock Garden, the Alpine Houses, the Woodland Garden, the Pond, the Arboretum, the Chinese Hillside, the Rhododendron Collection and the Scottish Native Plants Collection in the Heath Garden. This is how we would walk them.
Come in at the East Gate on Inverleith Row if you are arriving by bus from the centre, and the ground rises gently in front of you. Take the Rock Garden first — it is the single most concentrated thing here, an artificial mountainside of alpines with the best five minutes of any season on it — then work west and uphill to the Chinese Hillside, where the collection was grown from wild-origin material and the pavilion looks back over the pond.
From there cut north into the Arboretum, the quietest part of the garden and the one nobody photographs, then swing back along the Herbaceous Border towards Inverleith House and the Terrace Cafe, where the lawn gives the view every visitor ends up taking: the whole Old Town skyline, castle included, framed by trees, from a garden bench. Finish through the Woodland Garden to whichever gate you need. That is 90 minutes at a walking pace with stops.
The things people miss
A garden this size hides its smaller pieces, and these are the ones worth a detour.
- The Botanic Cottage — an eighteenth-century cottage taken down stone by stone from Leith Walk and rebuilt inside the garden; it now runs community and teaching programmes.
- Inverleith House — the 1774 house on the high ground, used for exhibitions, with the Terrace Cafe beside it and the skyline view from its lawn.
- The Queen Mother's Memorial Garden and Alpine area — currently open Saturdays and Sundays only, weather dependent, while restoration work continues.
- The Edible Garden and the Kitchen Garden — the organic beds that supply the cafes' own menus, which is unusual enough to be worth a look on the way past.
- The Scottish Native Plants Collection — inside the Heath Garden, and the most useful half-hour in the country for putting names to what you saw in the Highlands.
- Silent Space — a designated quiet area the garden marks on its own signage, for anyone who has had enough of August.
Eating here, and what it costs
There are more cafes than most visitors expect and their hours differ, which matters when the garden itself shuts at 15:30 in December. The Gateway Cafe at the John Hope Gateway runs daily 10:00 to 17:00 with last orders at 16:30 and lunch served 11:30 to 15:00. The Terrace Cafe by Inverleith House runs daily 10:00 to 17:00, last orders 16:15, counter order with table service. The East Gate Shop & Cafe is open daily 10:00 to 16:30 for coffee and baking, and it is the one to use if you are coming in or out on the Inverleith Row buses.
The Garden View Deck & Bar at the West Gate opens Friday and Saturday 12:00 to 20:00, last orders 19:30, and Sunday 12:00 to 17:00 — the only part of the site that outlives the garden's own closing time. A cream tea at the Terrace is £19 (about $26) and is booked separately. Menu prices otherwise are not published on the garden's site, so we do not print any.
The Palm Houses: timed tickets, walking time, and what a slot really buys
From Friday 2 October 2026 this is the only ticketed thing in the garden, and the details below — prices, slot times, walking distances — are all from the garden's own Palm Houses page, read on 30 August 2026.
Tickets are timed and capacity is deliberately limited, so the garden asks you to book online in advance; members go free but still have to hold a slot. Slots run from 10:15 to 16:15 daily.
| Ticket | With donation | Without | Approx. USD (with donation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adult | £5.50 | £4.95 | $7.50 |
| Concession | £4.70 | £4.20 | $6.40 |
| Child, 15 and under | Free | Free | - |
| Young Scot card holder | £1.00 | Not stated | $1.35 |
| Universal or Pension Credit | £1.00 | Not stated | $1.35 |
| Member | Free | Free | - (a slot must still be booked) |
The entrance is a new one, near the Willow Pond at the East Gate end of the garden, signposted to a Welcome Booth.
The walking time is the part people underestimate, and the garden prints it: allow about 10 minutes from the East Gate on Inverleith Row and about 15 from the West Gate at the John Hope Gateway. Book the slot, then work backwards — a 14:00 slot from the West Gate means being inside the gates by 13:40 at the latest, and that is before you have looked at anything.
The donation, the Gift Aid and the honest arithmetic
Both prices in that table are real: the garden's headline rate includes a small voluntary donation, and choosing the lower figure is not a concession you have to justify. UK taxpayers can also Gift Aid the ticket, which adds 25p to the garden for every £1 donated at no cost to the visitor.
At £5.50 for an adult and nothing for a child, this is among the cheapest paid attractions in the city — for comparison, the numbers on what a day in Edinburgh costs start at more than four times that for the ticketed headline sights. Where it is not cheap is in time: the round trip from the centre plus the walk to the door plus the slot is most of a half-day, which is the real price of the Palm Houses. Access to the glasshouses themselves is step-free, on ramps and paved surfaces, with tarmac routes from both gates, and wheelchairs and scooters can be pre-booked for collection at the East Gate or the John Hope Gateway.
Getting to the Botanics: which gate, which bus, and the walk through Stockbridge
The garden describes itself as "just one mile north of Edinburgh's city centre", which is true and slightly misleading — it is a proper walk or a bus, not a stroll between two sights. Bus routes are the garden's own list; fares are Lothian's, read on 30 August 2026; walking times are our estimates.
There are two gates and they are 15 minutes apart on foot, so pick before you leave. The East Gate is on Inverleith Row (EH3 5LP) and is served by bus routes 8, 9, 23 and 27 from the city centre; it is the closest gate to the Palm Houses. The West Gate on Arboretum Place (EH3 5NZ) is where the John Hope Gateway visitor centre, the main shop and the Gateway Cafe are, and Lothian routes 24 and 29 reach it via Stockbridge.
On foot from Princes Street, allow about 25 to 30 minutes: down into Stockbridge, across the Water of Leith and north up either Inverleith Row or Arboretum Place. It is one of the better walks in the city and it costs nothing, which is the same argument as the garden itself. By bus, a Lothian single is £2.40 (about $3.30) and a day ticket £6.00 (about $8.20), while tapping the same card all day caps at £5.70 (about $7.75); cash on board must be exact and how the fares, taps and caps work is on its own page.
- East Gate, Inverleith Row EH3 5LP — buses 8, 9, 23 and 27 from the centre; nearest gate to the Palm Houses entrance, about 10 minutes' walk inside the garden.
- West Gate, Arboretum Place EH3 5NZ — Lothian 24 and 29 via Stockbridge; the John Hope Gateway, the main shop, the Gateway Cafe and the Deck & Bar are here.
- On foot — about 25 to 30 minutes from Princes Street through Stockbridge, our estimate; add 10 more from Waverley.
- By bike — stands at both the East and the West Gate.
- By car — metered on-street parking near the West Gate on Arboretum Place; no visitor car park.
- Blue Badge — six spaces on Arboretum Place to the left of the West Gate, plus three opposite, by Inverleith Park's entrance gate.
Getting round once you are in
The garden is largely accessible to wheelchair users, with marked routes, tarmac on most paths and level or ramped access to the public buildings; paths that are not accessible are signposted, and some are steeply graded or cambered. There are 140 benches, which is the figure the garden itself publishes and the most useful accessibility statistic on this page.
Manual wheelchairs and motorised scooters are lent free for up to two hours a booking, and the garden strongly recommends reserving one in advance on 0131 248 2909 or through visitorwelcome@rbge.org.uk; the manufacturers' limits are 133 kg for a scooter, 120 kg for a standard manual wheelchair and 200 kg for the one larger chair. There are three accessible toilets in the John Hope Gateway and more in the grounds, hearing loops at the welcome points, assistance animals are welcome with water on request, and BSL seasonal garden tours can be booked. One warning from the garden's own access page: the 70 m path to and from the John Hope Gateway has an incline, and manual wheelchair users may need help on it — the accessible lift to restaurant level and the terrace beyond avoids it entirely.
Royal Botanic Garden map: the two gates, the Palm Houses and the way back to town
The garden's two entrances, the visitor centre and the neighbourhoods you walk back through. Garden position from Wikidata; gate and neighbour pins are approximate to within a minute's walk.
Next stop from Inverleith
Walking times are our estimates from the East Gate unless said otherwise.
Stockbridge
The obvious pairing: the garden in the morning, then lunch and the Water of Leith path. The Stockbridge page has the market day, the shops and the walk.
12 min walk southDean Village
Follow the river upstream from Stockbridge and the mill village arrives on its own. The route, the bridges and the photograph everybody takes are on its page.
25 min walk along the waterEdinburgh New Town
The way home on foot, through the Georgian grid to George Street and Princes Street. The New Town page walks the plan, and the three-hour guided walk explains it.
25 min walk back to the centreRoyal Botanic Garden Edinburgh questions
Is the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh free?
The garden is, every day it is open — its own visit page prints "Garden entry FREE" and there is nothing to book. The glasshouses are not: from Friday 2 October 2026 the restored Palm Houses charge £5.50 an adult with the voluntary donation and £4.95 without (about $7.50 / $6.75), with children 15 and under free and Young Scot or Credit holders at £1. The price table has every rate.
What are the Royal Botanic Garden opening times?
Daily from 10:00, with three different closing times through the year: 17:00 from February to October, 16:00 in November and January, and 15:30 in December. It is closed on 25 December and 1 January, and the garden warns that in extreme weather it may close altogether, so check its own site on a stormy morning. The Palm Houses run separate timed slots from 10:15 to 16:15 — the hours table puts them side by side.
Are the Edinburgh glasshouses open?
Only the Palm Houses, and only from Friday 2 October 2026. The garden's own wording is that access "is limited to the Palm Houses only, all other Glasshouses remain closed during ongoing restoration works". The Queen Mother's Memorial Garden and the Alpine area are also restricted, open to visitors on Saturdays and Sundays and weather dependent. If glass under a dome is the reason for your trip, what is open and what is not is the section to read first.
How do you get to the Botanics from Edinburgh city centre?
It is about a mile north — 25 to 30 minutes on foot from Princes Street through Stockbridge, which is our estimate and one of the better walks in the city. By bus, the East Gate on Inverleith Row is served by routes 8, 9, 23 and 27, and the West Gate on Arboretum Place by Lothian 24 and 29 via Stockbridge. A single is £2.40 and the all-day tap cap £5.70. Gates, buses and Blue Badge spaces has the detail.
How long do you need at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh?
The garden publishes no recommended duration. Our routing is 90 minutes for a loop of the Rock Garden, the Chinese Hillside, the Arboretum and the Inverleith House lawn, and half a day if you add a cafe and a Palm Houses slot. Add the travelling time honestly: with the walk out and back from the centre, this is a half-day whatever you do inside.
Is there a family ticket for the Palm Houses?
Not one that is published. We read the garden's Palm Houses ticket page on 30 August 2026 and it lists adult, concession, child, Young Scot, Credit holder and member rates, with no family price among them — but children 15 and under are free, which does most of the same work for a family of four. A free carer ticket can be added when you book.
Is the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh worth visiting?
For an outdoor half-day, yes: 70 acres, free, with a Rock Garden, a Chinese Hillside and a skyline view from the Inverleith House lawn that costs nothing. It is not the right answer for a wet afternoon or for a two-day trip with the castle still unseen — it is a mile out and it is a garden. Come in spring for the rhododendrons or late October for the Arboretum, and treat the Palm Houses as a £5.50 addition rather than the reason.
The version of this that works
Walk out through Stockbridge after breakfast, come in at the West Gate, take coffee at the John Hope Gateway, then do the loop — Rock Garden, Chinese Hillside, Arboretum, Inverleith House lawn for the skyline — and leave by the East Gate onto Inverleith Row with a bus back into town. Ninety minutes inside, half a day in total, nothing booked and nothing paid.
From 2 October 2026, add a Palm Houses slot to that: book online, pick a time at least 20 minutes after your gate arrival, and expect half an hour under the glass rather than an afternoon. Skip it entirely if the weather is good — the collections that make this garden internationally important are outdoors, and the free door means you can come back on a duller day.
If the rain has already decided your day, this is the wrong page: the indoor list and the free national collections are the right ones, and the three-hour guided city walk at £35 (about $48) covers the streets rather than the trees. The rest of the city, with the same hours-price-map treatment on every page, starts from our Edinburgh guide.
The Botanics on film: the loop, the glass and the seasons
Three walk-throughs that answer what a page cannot — how far apart the gates really are, what the collections look like in spring, and how the garden's own staff describe the place. Ids copied from our verified list, embedded without cookies.
Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh: a walking tour in 4K
The whole loop at walking pace, which is the quickest way to judge the 90-minute route before you go.
Video: Sounds and VistasWalking through the Garden
The garden's own film, useful for the names of the collections you will be walking past.
Video: Royal Botanic Garden EdinburghThe Botanics in spring, in 4K
Filmed in the rhododendron season, which is the strongest argument on this page for coming in spring.
Video: Sona WanderlustThird-party videos except where the channel is the garden's own. Neither the channels nor the videos are connected to this site.
Page last reviewed 2026-08-30. Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure